Audit Committee


In accordance with Ontario Regulation 361/10, the Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board formed an Audit Committee on January 31st, 2011 with an Inaugural meeting held on March 28th, 2011. The audit committee is comprised of two elected trustees (four year term) and two external voluntary members (three year term).

The Current Audit Committee membership is as follows:

  • Shawn Fitzsimmons - Trustee (Audit Committee Chair)
  • Leo de Jourdan - Trustee
  • Shelly Warren - Trustee (alternate)
  • VACANT - Volunteer
  • VACANT - Volunteer

Meetings are held in-camera in accordance with the Ministry Memorandum 2011:SB06 Closed Sessions for Audit Meetings.

General Ministry Correspondence may be found on the Analysis and Accountability Branch (FAAB) website.

Volunteer Opportunity

The Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board is seeking a community member with financial expertise and business knowledge to fill a vacancy on its Audit Committee effective immediately, for the remainder of the 3-year term ending January 31, 2020. 

If you are interested in serving on the Audit Committee, please click here for information on how to apply.

Audit Mandate

The mission of the regional internal audit team is to provide independent, objective assurance and consulting services designed to add value and improve the district school boards' operations in the following 8 school boards, hereinafter referred to as the Northeastern Ontario region;

Terms of Reference

The Audit Committee will assist the Board of Trustees in fulfilling its duties related to risk management, compliance with Ministry of Education Act and Regulations, and control and oversight