Pictured left to right: John Willemsen, Jacques Bégin, Maggie Saunders, Kile George (Indigenous Student Trustee 2019-2020), Barbara McCool, Judy Manitowabi, Linda Jamieson, Shawn Fitzsimmons and Leo de Jourdan.


Catholic trustees are elected in the province of Ontario by separate school ratepayers. They are entrusted with the education of children whose parents want them educated in an educational milieu and environment of Catholic belief.

In fulfilling this charge, the first role of trustees as members of school boards is to make policy and to ensure that policy is applied. Of paramount importance for Catholic boards is the development of policies which will ensure that the message of the Christian Gospel is taught with integrity in Catholic schools. Crucial also to the fulfillment of the trustee's responsibility is the serious and deliberate attention paid to the hiring and supervision of senior staff. As is the case with the Catholic educator, this role cannot be fulfilled outside the context of one's faith. Implicit in the fulfillment of these obligations is that trustees as well as all professional educators give witness to the way of life expressed by the Gospel.

Excerpt from "Witness to Faith" - OCSTA

Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board END Statements

Board of Trustees for 2018-2022

Title Name Area Represented


Leo de Jourdan

North Bay


Barbara McCool

North Bay


Jacques Bégin

East and South of North Bay


Shawn Fitzsimmons

North Bay


Linda Jamieson

North Bay


Judy Manitowabi

Nipissing First Nations


John Willemsen

West Nipissing

Student Trustee

Maggie Saunders


Indigenous Student Trustee

Grace Couchie

Trustee Contact Information