Special Education Advisory Committee

Regulation 464/97 under the Education Act requires each school board in Ontario to establish a Special Education Advisory Committee which is composed of trustees, members from local associations and local agencies.

"Local association" means an association or organization of parents that operate locally within the area of jurisdiction of a board and that is affiliated with an association or organization that is not an association of professional educators but that is incorporate and operated throughout Ontario to further the interests and well-being of one or more groups of exceptional children or adults.

This standing committee's major functions are to advise the Board regarding any special education matter and make recommendations concerning the needs of exceptional pupils in the Board's jurisdiction.

SEAC members are appointed by the board for the term of office of the Board Members represent the following associations:

Committee Members

Name Position / Representing

Marie Derosier

Learning Disabilities Association of NB (Chair)

Jeannie Boissonneault

Nipissing Down Syndrome Society (Vice-Chair)

Jacques Bégin

Trustee (alternate)

Theresa Bitonti

Special Education Coordinator

Dr. Mary Grise

Parent Representative

Caroline Labrecque

Nipissing First Nation

Dan Lachance

Community Living North Bay

Barbara McCool

Trustee (alternate)

Paula Mann

Director of Education

Patricia Overholt

SJSH Classroom Resource Teacher and Curriculum Lead

April Porter

Community Living North Bay

Frank Ricciuti

SJSH Special Education Teacher and Curriculum Lead

Shelly Warren


Jody Weller

Superintendent of Education

John Willemsen



Committee Meetings